Menu
Log in
Log in

 Serve on a Grant Review Committee

Impact100 Sonoma’s grants work is an essential component of contributing to a just and thriving Sonoma Valley. Serving as a Grant Review Committee (GRC) member draws you into engagement with our nonprofit community. You will review the nonprofit applications, explore them in depth through site visits, and determine which proposals you believe can have the most significant impact and also have the greatest opportunity to successfully utilize the funds.  

If this sounds like meaningful work, and you want to become involved, read through the questions below for more detail about Grant Review Committee participation and what to expect.

OUR GRANT REVIEW COMMITTEES ARE FULL FOR 2024If you have any questions about your registration, please contact our GRC Registrar at marcy@impact100sonoma.org


"The emotional fulfillment that comes with serving as a leader or lending your talents for a cause you care about can sometimes supersede the fulfillment you gain by just doing well in your job. It can serve as a conduit for personal growth and gratification that goes beyond a salary or hourly wage and help bring in new perspectives for professional creativity and innovation."

Wendy Steele - Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Impact100 Global Read the full article here.

What do Impact100 Sonoma Grant Review Committees do?

Grant Review Committees are established annually for the winter/spring grant review season. Committee members read and review grant applications and participate in a thorough vetting process that leads to recommending finalists to be voted on by the entire Impact100 Sonoma membership.

For more information, please review the GRC training modules at the bottom of this webpage.

What will the 2024 Impact100 grant review process look like?

Click here for information on our 2024 Impetus Grants and the Encore Grant. Click here for information on our 2024 Application Process.

Is there a calendar for the Grant Review Committees? How much time does it take?

Our grant review season will take place on a timeline from January – April 2024. Most meetings will be held in person, though some site visits may be held via Zoom. Committee members will be expected to devote approximately 20-25 hours of their time to the process. Key dates for 2024 are in the Grant Review Committee Calendar on the right side of this page.

What qualifications do I need?

The basic qualifications to join a Grant Review Committee include:

  • Register by December 1, 2023 to ensure your spot on a Committee. Only members who have paid their 2024 member contribution will ultimately be confirmed to serve. Click here to make your 2024 membership contribution.
  • Own and be comfortable using a computer, have home internet access and Zoom app familiarity.
  • Be able to devote the time necessary to fulfill the most important committee obligations during February and March (approximately 20-25 hours).
  • Be prepared to attend at least 3 site visits between February 21 to March 23, 2024 at various locations around Sonoma Valley, allowing approximately 2 hours for each site visit.
  • Volunteer to lead and/or take notes for at least one site visit.
  • Have the ability to actively and objectively participate in discussions and listen to the thoughts and suggestions of others.
  • Find enjoyment working in a group setting with other equally motivated women.
If I have served on a committee previously, do I need to register again this year?

Yes. You must register anew every year for a GRC, even if you are leading a committee! This is to ensure you are familiar with any new dates and responsibilities, but most importantly, you must fill out a new confidentiality agreement and conflict of interest form each year.

How can I register for a GRC?
Register by filling out the following form (and reading all the requirements therein):
Our committees are full for 2024. Please come back next year!

Read the section below for information about serving on the Financial Review Committee.
What are the next steps after I register?
  • When you’ve completed your registration, you will receive an email acknowledging its receipt. Your place on a committee will be confirmed once your member contribution for 2024 is received.
  • Make sure all important dates are marked on your calendar.
  • In mid-December, you’ll receive an email asking you to confirm your meeting date availability and containing more information about our in-person training session scheduled for January.
  • Towards the end of January, you will find out to which committee you’ve been assigned.

  Serve on the Financial Review Committeetee

What does the Impact100 Sonoma Financial Review Committee do?

The function of the Financial Review Committee (FRC) is to act as the fiduciary for Impact100 to assure members that all the nonprofits who apply for grants have the financial viability and stability to insure they can meet the representations made in their grant application. The FRC reviews the financial statements and other financial data provided by the nonprofit in support of its grant application. It is an entity-focused financial review, not a grant-focused qualitative review, that is the focus of the Grant Review Committees (GRCs).

The FRC's work is intensely focused over a three-week period in January and involves two committee meetings during which we review the financials of every vetted grant applicant. If you have a strong financial background, and are interested in the opportunity to serve on the FRC, please email Barbara Morrison or Marney Malik and they will contact you to discuss the necessary qualifications.

  • Barbara Morrison (FRC Co-Chair) - barbara@tmcfinancing.com
  • Marney Malik (FRC Co-Chair) - marney.malik@gmail.com
  • For further questions regarding serving on or registering for a 2024 Committee, please contact:

    Grant Review Committee Calendar


     KEY GRANT REVIEW EVENTSDATE 

     GRC registration due
     (for confirmed place on committee)

     12/01/23
     2024 Membership payment due 12/31/23

     Impetus Grant application due

     (by 8:00 PM) 


     01/12/24
     Impact100 Sonoma Annual Meeting   

     (announcement of available grant  funds)

     01/20/24 

     Mandatory training session for                     GRC and FRC members      (please plan to attend one training session)

     01/25/24   PM   or     01/27/24  

     AM

     GRC meetings #1 window

     02/13   through  02/17

     Site visit window

     (in-person or virtual)

     02/21  through  03/21

     GRC meetings #2 window 03/26   through  03/30 
     Meet the Finalists (10:00 AM-12) 04/20/24
     Members vote online 04/20   through  04/30
     Grant Awards Celebration (10:00 AM-12) 05/04/24 
     GRC and FRC Party on the Plaza

     TBD in   June 


    All dates and times subject to change. 

    Meeting locations TBA.



    Grant Review Committee Resources


    We have answered Member questions about what's new for Grants in 2024 here:  Member FAQ for Grants 2024

    If you are new to Impact100 grant review, or simply want a refresher on the process, please watch these two brief explanatory videos prior to the first in-person training:

    Grant Review Committee Training Modules

    1. Our Grantmaking
    2. Committee Process & Details

    If you would like to know more about core mission funding and its importance to our Sonoma Valley nonprofits, please watch this informative presentation by Impact100 member and Catalyst Fund Grants Chair, Diana Sanson:


    From The Center for Effective Philanthropy comes this blog post further describing Why Giving for Core Mission Support Matters.

    Grant Review Committee Resource Documents (Members only; you must be logged in to open):

    1. Grant Review Committee Member Responsibilities and Calendar 2024

    2. Grant Recipient Cumulative History 2009-2024

    3. 2025 Grantmaking History Narrative

    4. NPO Abbreviation Listing 2024

    5. Impact100 Sonoma Values and Equity Commitment

    6. Grant Review Terminology

    7. Foundant Step-by-Step Directions

    If you have any questions about training or the Grant Review process, in addition to our Grants Chairs, you may contact:

    OUR VISION

    A just and thriving Sonoma Valley

    OUR MISSION

    Empowering women of Sonoma Valley to invest in a more sustainable nonprofit community through collective giving and responsible stewardship

    Impact100 Sonoma is a member of Philanos

    Impact100 Sonoma ©2024. All rights reserved



    Impact100 Sonoma
    P.O. Box 1958
    Sonoma, CA 95476
    (707) 939-5007
    info@impact100sonoma.org


    Stay Connected:

    Subscribe to our Newsletter




    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software